2020 Awards (24th Annual)

^ Winner ^ 

Best Picture

1. ^ Nomadland ^
2. Da 5 Bloods
3. Promising Young Woman
4. Never Rarely Sometimes Always
5. First Cow
6. Minari
7. Sound of Metal
8. I’m Thinking of Ending Things
9. Soul
10. The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Animated Feature

Over the Moon
^ Soul ^
The Wolf House

Best Director

Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman
Eliza Hittman – Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Spike Lee – Da 5 Bloods
Kelly Reichardt – First Cow
^ Chloé Zhao – Nomadland ^

Best Actor

Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal
Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Anthony Hopkins – The Father
^ Delroy Lindo – Da 5 Bloods ^
Steven Yeun – Minari

Best Actress

Jessie Buckley – I’m Thinking of Ending Things
Viola Davis – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Sidney Flanigan – Never Rarely Sometimes Always
^ Frances McDormand – Nomadland ^
Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman

Best Supporting Actor

Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial of the Chicago 7
Chadwick Boseman – Da 5 Bloods
Bill Murray – On the Rocks
^ Leslie Odom Jr. – One Night in Miami ^
Paul Raci – Sound of Metal

Best Supporting Actress

^ Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm ^
Olivia Colman – The Father
Talia Ryder – Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Amanda Seyfried – Mank
Youn Yuh-jung – Minari

Best Original Screenplay

Da 5 Bloods – Danny Bilson, Paul Demeo, Kevin Willmott, Spike Lee
Minari – Lee Isaac Chung
Never Rarely Sometimes Always – Eliza Hittman
^ Promising Young Woman – Emerald Fennell ^
The Trial of the Chicago 7 – Aaron Sorkin

Best Adapted Screenplay

First Cow – Jonathan Raymond, Kelly Reichardt
I’m Thinking of Ending Things – Charlie Kaufman
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Ruben Santiago-Hudson
^ Nomadland – Chloé Zhao ^
One Night in Miami – Kemp Powers

Best Editing

Da 5 Bloods – Adam Gough
Mank – Kirk Baxter
^ Nomadland – Chloé Zhao ^
Tenet – Jennifer Lame
The Trial of the Chicago 7 – Alan Baumgarten

Best Cinematography

Da 5 Bloods – Newton Thomas Sigel
First Cow – Christopher Blauvelt
Mank – Erik Messerschmidt
^ Nomadland – Joshua James Richards ^
Tenet – Hoyte Van Hoytema

Best Original Score

Da 5 Bloods – Terence Blanchard
Mank – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross
Minari – Emile Mosseri
^ Soul – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross ^
Tenet – Ludwig Goransson

Best Debut Feature

Radha Blank – The Forty-Year-Old Version
^ Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman ^
Regina King – One Night in Miami
Darius Marder – Sound of Metal
Andrew Patterson – The Vast of Night

Best Film Not in the English Language

Another Round (Denmark)
Bacurau (Brazil)
Collective (Romania)
La Llorona (Guatemala)
^ Minari (United States) ^

Best Documentary

Boys State
^ Dick Johnson Is Dead ^
The Painter and the Thief

Technical Achievement Awards

^ Sound of Metal – Sound Design ^
^ Emma. – Costume Design ^
^ Tenet – Visual Effects ^
^ Mank – Production Design ^
^ The Invisible Man – Visual Effects ^

Lifetime Achievement Awards

^ Rob Bottin (Makeup Artist) ^
^ David Byrne (Composer) ^
^ Jane Fonda (Actor) ^
^ Jean-Luc Godard (Director) ^
^ Frederick Wiseman (Documentarian) ^

Special Achievement Awards

^ To distributor Kino Lorber for being the first company to offer virtual film distribution as a way to help independent theaters during the pandemic through the Kino Marquee. ^
^ To the independent theater entities that participated in presenting “Virtual Cinema” when forced to close due to the pandemic. Films that otherwise may not have been seen were made available through online platforms, with ticket prices shared by the distributor with the theater. ^
^ To “Small Axe” — Director Steve McQueen created a series of films for the small screen that rivals the best of the theatrical features of the year, that can be seen individually and yet work together to explore a cultural experience largely unseen on big screens, television, or streaming to date. ^

Non-U.S. Releases

A Beast in Love (Japan)
The Disciple (India)
Ghosts (Turkey)
Mogul Mowgli (United Kingdom)
New Order (Mexico)
Notturno (Italy)
Rocks (United Kingdom)
Saint Maud (United Kingdom)
Summer of 85 (France)
Undine (Germany)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

The World's Oldest Organization of Online Film Critics